Cross River Parent to Acquire Accrue and Bring Branded Wallet Technology Into Its Banking Business
Oct. 29, 2026 • Deep Dive • Banking & Payments
CRB Group, the parent of Cross River Bank, has agreed to acquire Accrue, a provider of branded wallets, stored-value infrastructure and customer loyalty software. The deal would bring technology already connected to the bank into its embedded finance business. Financial terms were not disclosed, and the transaction remained subject to customary closing conditions as of late October 2026.
Cross River was already Accrue’s partner bank, holding Accrue Balance funds as an FDIC-insured depository and issuing linked Visa debit cards. Accrue’s software includes merchant-specific stored-value ledgers and a way to route merchandise refunds into store credit rather than back to an outside card issuer. Founder and CEO Michael Hershfield is set to lead Cross River’s embedded finance suite, while Accrue’s 26 staff members are expected to join Cross River’s workforce. The acquisition would move the two companies from a banking partnership to a shared operating structure, if completed.
CRB Group, the parent of Cross River Bank, has agreed to acquire Accrue, bringing a provider of branded wallets and stored-value software into a bank that already supports its products. The proposed acquisition would turn an existing bank-fintech partnership into a shared operation, giving Cross River direct access to technology used to hold customer funds for purchases, issue linked debit cards and manage merchant-specific value.
The companies did not disclose the price or other financial terms. As of late October 2026, the transaction remained subject to customary closing conditions, with no targeted closing date or completed regulatory sign-off announced. Those conditions matter to the timing: the agreement has been reached, but the acquisition has not yet closed.
A partnership moves toward ownership
Cross River Bank was Accrue’s underlying partner bank before the deal. It served as the FDIC-insured depository for funds in Accrue Balance and issued the linked Visa debit cards. That existing relationship distinguishes the acquisition from a bank buying technology it has not previously supported: Cross River already performs banking functions behind Accrue’s customer-facing offering.
The agreement was executed by CRB Group, Inc., Cross River Bank’s holding company, rather than by the bank itself. Cross River is a New Jersey state-chartered institution with approximately $8.5 billion in balance-sheet assets. The proposed purchase concerns Accrue’s software and team as well as a product relationship already tied to the bank’s deposit and card-issuing roles.
Accrue founder and CEO Michael Hershfield will move to Cross River in a leadership role directing its embedded finance suite. Accrue’s 26 staff members are expected to be fully integrated into Cross River’s workforce rather than continue as a separate subsidiary. Those plans indicate how the buyer intends to absorb the business, although their implementation depends on the pending transaction.
How the stored-value model works
Accrue’s technology includes branded wallets, stored-value ledgers, branded debit capabilities and customer loyalty software. A stored-value ledger records funds or credits that a customer can use within a particular merchant’s offering. The merchant-specific aspect is important: value can remain available for another purchase from that merchant instead of immediately returning to an external payment account.
One commercial use is the handling of merchandise returns. Accrue’s infrastructure can route a refund into store credit on a merchant-specific ledger, rather than reimburse a third-party credit card issuer. That keeps the refunded amount within the merchant’s purchasing environment and prevents the gross dollar outflow associated with that particular card refund. It does not establish whether a customer will spend the credit, or what the arrangement ultimately means for a merchant’s overall revenue.
The linked Visa debit cards and Accrue Balance show how the model combines several functions: a customer-facing balance, a bank holding the underlying funds and a card that can be used with that balance. Cross River’s prior role in the arrangement provides context for the acquisition. The bank is seeking to own the technology layer attached to services it already provides, rather than simply continuing to support it as an outside partner.
From savings concept to payments infrastructure
Accrue was established in November 2021 as a “save now, buy later” customer platform. It subsequently shifted toward payments-layer stored value, branded debit and loyalty software. That change in focus helps explain the fit with Cross River’s embedded finance suite, which Hershfield is due to lead after joining the bank.
Before the transaction, Accrue raised approximately $30 million in venture funding, including a $25 million Series A round led by Tiger Global. That funding history describes the company’s development but does not indicate its acquisition price: neither party has made the deal’s valuation public.
For now, the clearest change is the planned ownership and integration of an existing partner. Cross River already holds Accrue Balance funds and issues its linked cards; completing the purchase would bring the associated wallet and stored-value software, along with Accrue’s staff, into the same organization. Until the closing conditions are met, those remain plans under an announced acquisition agreement.
CRB Group, the parent of Cross River Bank, has agreed to acquire Accrue, a provider of branded wallets, stored-value infrastructure and customer loyalty software. The deal would bring technology already connected to the bank into its embedded finance business. Financial terms were not disclosed, and the transaction remained subject to customary closing conditions as of late October 2026. Cross River was already Accrue’s partner bank, holding Accrue Balance funds as an FDIC-insured depository and issuing linked Visa debit cards. Accrue’s software includes merchant-specific stored-value ledgers and a way to route merchandise refunds into store credit rather than back to an outside card issuer. Founder and CEO Michael Hershfield is set to lead Cross River’s embedded finance suite, while Accrue’s 26 staff members are expected to join Cross River’s workforce. The acquisition would move the two companies from a banking partnership to a shared operating structure, if completed.
Revolut’s expansion into UK consumer lending is facing closer regulatory scrutiny. The Financial Times reported on October 27, 2026, that the Bank of England’s Prudential Regulation Authority had ordered a Section 166 skilled-person review of the bank’s product approval processes and internal risk governance. The review comes as Revolut offers unsecured personal loans and prepares to introduce a domestic credit card, with mortgages planned later. Revolut UK CEO Francesca Carlesi has said the bank intends to package and sell loans through securitisation rather than retain substantial long-term credit exposure. Revolut is targeting a loan-to-deposit ratio of roughly 6%, far below the roughly 100% typical of incumbent British high-street banks. The strategy could support lending growth while limiting loans held on its balance sheet, but it does not eliminate credit risk. S&P Global has cited the possibility of higher credit losses as Revolut expands lending across multiple jurisdictions.
Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (SMBC) and Ant International signed a memorandum of understanding on October 26, 2026, to explore cross-border payments and digital treasury services. Their initial focus is Japan, Singapore and wider Southeast Asia. Engineering teams will examine whether Ant International’s Whale RTP platform can be integrated with SMBC’s institutional transaction banking and digital asset platforms. The agreement is exploratory, not the launch of a live settlement service. SMBC’s multi-market transaction banking rails are expected to support operations involving Ant International’s Alipay+, Antom and WorldFirst businesses. Ant International says its Whale platform processed more than US$600 billion in global treasury flows in 2025, with over 95% of transactions settling on the same day. Those figures describe the existing platform, not activity under the SMBC agreement. The MoU follows separate tokenized-deposit work involving Ant International and other banks, including a live OCBC solution and an HSBC pilot.
Tech Mahindra and Finastra announced on October 23, 2026, that Tech Mahindra had completed its acquisition of Finastra’s cash management products and related intellectual property. The deal moves Tech Mahindra beyond implementing banking software for clients and into owning transaction banking products. Financial terms were not disclosed. The acquired portfolio includes Fusion Cash Management, Fusion Virtual Accounts and Fusion Liquidity Management, along with CashPlus, Global CashPlus and associated transaction banking APIs. Finastra product engineering and customer success personnel are being moved into Tech Mahindra’s banking, financial services and insurance division. Tech Mahindra plans to integrate the products into its existing Finastra Centre of Excellence to maintain service continuity for banking clients. The acquisition follows Tech Mahindra’s earlier purchase of an 85% stake in Canadian fintech Avant Techno Solutions and comes as Finastra divests businesses to concentrate on lending and payments software.
The European Payments Council implemented Version 1.1 of its Verification of Payee scheme rulebook on September 20, 2026, clarifying operations, API specifications and security after feedback from live deployment. Its directory service, operated with SWIFT, has also completed a live transition supporting provider reachability and routing. The changes come as non-eurozone EU payment providers work toward a July 9, 2027, compliance deadline. Required under the EU Instant Payments Regulation for both instant and standard SEPA credit transfers, Verification of Payee checks recipient details before authorization and must be offered free to users. The inter-provider exchange has a five-second operational maximum and can return a match, close match, no match or verification-not-possible result. A close match supplies the verified recipient name for the payer to review. A warning does not necessarily prevent a transfer: liability depends on whether a payer proceeds despite it or a provider fails to perform a required check.
Fireblocks has rejected an Axios report that Visa was in advanced talks to acquire the digital-asset infrastructure company for about $2.5 billion. Fireblocks said the reported discussions were not taking place at present. Visa declined to comment on the claim, while Coinbase separately denied reports that it was considering a bid. None of the companies has confirmed an acquisition process. The reported price would be about 69% below Fireblocks’ $8 billion valuation from its January 2022 Series E funding round. The company generated $124 million in revenue in 2024 but remained unprofitable, and it has initiated plans to cut 60 to 70 jobs amid the rumors. Visa already uses Fireblocks as an institutional client and works with it on an interoperability initiative. Those existing links provide context for the speculation, but do not establish that a transaction is under discussion.


