The Fintech Log

PhotonPay Raises $40 Million Series C to Expand Stablecoin-Focused Financial OS

Oct. 30, 2026  •  Article  •  Banking & Payments

Summary

PhotonPay has closed a $40 million Series C round led by Blockchain Capital to expand its stablecoin-focused Financial OS. SBI Group joined as a new investor, alongside existing backers IDG Capital, GL Ventures and Lightspeed Faction. The funding follows a January 2026 Series B round.

PhotonPay reported $65 billion in annualized transaction volume as of August 2026, up from $30 billion reported at the time of its Series B. Its model combines stablecoin liquidity with bank relationships and local payment networks, rather than replacing those networks outright. The company says it holds 34 payment and financial licenses and regulatory authorizations and serves more than 200,000 corporate clients. It also plans an execution layer supporting the Model Context Protocol for autonomous AI agents. The expansion comes as Stripe and specialist firms including Rain and MassPay pursue corporate settlement opportunities.

Full Article

PhotonPay announced on 29 October 2026 that it had closed a $40 million Series C round led by Blockchain Capital. The company plans to expand its stablecoin-focused Financial OS, a platform aimed at bringing cross-border payments and corporate financial workflows together. The funding follows a January Series B and comes as PhotonPay reports rising transaction volume.

SBI Group participated as a new investor, alongside existing backers IDG Capital, GL Ventures and Lightspeed Faction. Blockchain Capital was the sole lead investor, according to the company announcement and subsequent reports. Blacksheep Technology served as exclusive financial advisor.

The investment backs an approach that connects stablecoin liquidity with conventional banking and local payment systems. For corporate customers, the question is not only how quickly money can cross a border, but how readily they can use it for payments, supplier obligations and other cash-flow needs after it arrives.

Funding Follows Growth in Reported Volume

PhotonPay said its annualized transaction volume reached $65 billion as of August 2026, compared with $30 billion reported when it announced its Series B in January. Annualized volume is a run-rate measure, not a statement that the company processed $65 billion over a completed year. The figures indicate the scale PhotonPay reported at two points in its fundraising cycle, but do not establish its revenue or profitability.

The company also reported issuing 4.4 million physical and virtual commercial cards over the trailing 12 months, a 275% year-over-year increase. Together, the payment-volume and card figures show growth across two parts of its corporate offering, although they measure different activities.

PhotonPay says it serves more than 200,000 corporate clients across more than 200 countries and territories. It reports holding 34 payment and financial licenses and regulatory authorizations across the Americas, Europe and Asia. Those figures help explain why expanding a cross-border platform involves more than adding another way to move funds: the company must also operate within local financial rules and maintain access to payment infrastructure.

The Series B was led by IDG Capital, with participation from Hillhouse Investment, Enlight Capital, Lightspeed Faction and Shoplazza. The new round puts fresh capital behind PhotonPay’s next stage of development; the research provided does not specify a valuation or a detailed allocation of the proceeds.

Stablecoins Alongside Bank and Local Payment Rails

PhotonPay describes its strategy as stablecoin-centric, but its operating model also relies on established financial institutions. It maintains direct banking and clearing relationships with J.P. Morgan, Standard Chartered and DBS, as well as integrations with local payment systems including Brazil’s Pix and Mexico’s SPEI.

That combination matters for the company’s positioning. Stablecoin liquidity may offer another means of moving value between markets, while banking relationships and local clearing connections remain part of how corporate funds reach payment destinations. The available evidence therefore does not support a claim that PhotonPay is replacing traditional merchant or bank rails. Its stated approach is to connect different rails within one financial platform.

PhotonPay founder and CEO Lewison Chen framed the customer problem in terms of access to working capital: “Moving money across borders in seconds means little if it still takes days to put that capital to work.” For mid-market exporters managing multiple currencies, supplier prepayments and settlement cycles, the distinction between a fast transfer and usable funds can be consequential.

Chief Compliance Officer JP Pi has also argued that software and AI models cannot by themselves reproduce the licensing footprint and institutional partnerships needed for compliant local settlement. That is the company’s assessment of the barriers to building a comparable service, rather than evidence that competitors cannot do so.

AI Plans Meet a Competitive Settlement Market

Part of the Series C capital is designated for an “agent-ready financial execution layer” supporting the Model Context Protocol, or MCP. The protocol is intended to help autonomous AI agents interact with financial workflows. The plan follows a live payment trial with Mastercard in May 2026. PhotonPay has not provided, in the available research, a timetable for broader deployment of the proposed layer.

The ambition adds another dimension to the funding round: PhotonPay is seeking to make its infrastructure usable not just through corporate payment processes, but potentially through software agents acting within those processes. That remains a development plan, separate from the transaction volume, cards and customer footprint the company has already reported.

Competition is also increasing. Dealroom News identified Stripe and enterprise stablecoin specialists Rain and MassPay as companies expanding corporate settlement capabilities across similar corridors. PhotonPay’s bank connections, local integrations and regulatory authorizations may be important to its approach, but the funding announcement does not show that its model has displaced established payment providers. The next test is whether it can turn its reported scale and planned technology investment into sustained corporate use.


By 'TFL Editorial Team'
Researched with AI tools. Edited and fact-checked by our editors.

References


You May Also Like

PhotonPay has closed a $40 million Series C round led by Blockchain Capital to expand its stablecoin-focused Financial OS. SBI Group joined as a new investor, alongside existing backers IDG Capital, GL Ventures and Lightspeed Faction. The funding follows a January 2026 Series B round. PhotonPay reported $65 billion in annualized transaction volume as of August 2026, up from $30 billion reported at the time of its Series B. Its model combines stablecoin liquidity with bank relationships and local payment networks, rather than replacing those networks outright. The company says it holds 34 payment and financial licenses and regulatory authorizations and serves more than 200,000 corporate clients. It also plans an execution layer supporting the Model Context Protocol for autonomous AI agents. The expansion comes as Stripe and specialist firms including Rain and MassPay pursue corporate settlement opportunities.

Oct. 30, 2026 • 3 min read

CRB Group, the parent of Cross River Bank, has agreed to acquire Accrue, a provider of branded wallets, stored-value infrastructure and customer loyalty software. The deal would bring technology already connected to the bank into its embedded finance business. Financial terms were not disclosed, and the transaction remained subject to customary closing conditions as of late October 2026. Cross River was already Accrue’s partner bank, holding Accrue Balance funds as an FDIC-insured depository and issuing linked Visa debit cards. Accrue’s software includes merchant-specific stored-value ledgers and a way to route merchandise refunds into store credit rather than back to an outside card issuer. Founder and CEO Michael Hershfield is set to lead Cross River’s embedded finance suite, while Accrue’s 26 staff members are expected to join Cross River’s workforce. The acquisition would move the two companies from a banking partnership to a shared operating structure, if completed.

Oct. 29, 2026 • 2 min read

Revolut’s expansion into UK consumer lending is facing closer regulatory scrutiny. The Financial Times reported on October 27, 2026, that the Bank of England’s Prudential Regulation Authority had ordered a Section 166 skilled-person review of the bank’s product approval processes and internal risk governance. The review comes as Revolut offers unsecured personal loans and prepares to introduce a domestic credit card, with mortgages planned later. Revolut UK CEO Francesca Carlesi has said the bank intends to package and sell loans through securitisation rather than retain substantial long-term credit exposure. Revolut is targeting a loan-to-deposit ratio of roughly 6%, far below the roughly 100% typical of incumbent British high-street banks. The strategy could support lending growth while limiting loans held on its balance sheet, but it does not eliminate credit risk. S&P Global has cited the possibility of higher credit losses as Revolut expands lending across multiple jurisdictions.

Oct. 27, 2026 • 3 min read

Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (SMBC) and Ant International signed a memorandum of understanding on October 26, 2026, to explore cross-border payments and digital treasury services. Their initial focus is Japan, Singapore and wider Southeast Asia. Engineering teams will examine whether Ant International’s Whale RTP platform can be integrated with SMBC’s institutional transaction banking and digital asset platforms. The agreement is exploratory, not the launch of a live settlement service. SMBC’s multi-market transaction banking rails are expected to support operations involving Ant International’s Alipay+, Antom and WorldFirst businesses. Ant International says its Whale platform processed more than US$600 billion in global treasury flows in 2025, with over 95% of transactions settling on the same day. Those figures describe the existing platform, not activity under the SMBC agreement. The MoU follows separate tokenized-deposit work involving Ant International and other banks, including a live OCBC solution and an HSBC pilot.

Oct. 27, 2026 • 2 min read

Tech Mahindra and Finastra announced on October 23, 2026, that Tech Mahindra had completed its acquisition of Finastra’s cash management products and related intellectual property. The deal moves Tech Mahindra beyond implementing banking software for clients and into owning transaction banking products. Financial terms were not disclosed. The acquired portfolio includes Fusion Cash Management, Fusion Virtual Accounts and Fusion Liquidity Management, along with CashPlus, Global CashPlus and associated transaction banking APIs. Finastra product engineering and customer success personnel are being moved into Tech Mahindra’s banking, financial services and insurance division. Tech Mahindra plans to integrate the products into its existing Finastra Centre of Excellence to maintain service continuity for banking clients. The acquisition follows Tech Mahindra’s earlier purchase of an 85% stake in Canadian fintech Avant Techno Solutions and comes as Finastra divests businesses to concentrate on lending and payments software.

Oct. 27, 2026 • 3 min read

The European Payments Council implemented Version 1.1 of its Verification of Payee scheme rulebook on September 20, 2026, clarifying operations, API specifications and security after feedback from live deployment. Its directory service, operated with SWIFT, has also completed a live transition supporting provider reachability and routing. The changes come as non-eurozone EU payment providers work toward a July 9, 2027, compliance deadline. Required under the EU Instant Payments Regulation for both instant and standard SEPA credit transfers, Verification of Payee checks recipient details before authorization and must be offered free to users. The inter-provider exchange has a five-second operational maximum and can return a match, close match, no match or verification-not-possible result. A close match supplies the verified recipient name for the payer to review. A warning does not necessarily prevent a transfer: liability depends on whether a payer proceeds despite it or a provider fails to perform a required check.

Oct. 26, 2026 • 3 min read